Tags

, , , , , , ,

I decided to attempt cooking something new today. I recently tried some pre-made Tuscan Stuffed Mushrooms and they were amazing, so I thought I’d try making my own. In the spirit of experimentation, I did something I never do: I went without a recipe! I feel like these could have been infinitely better had I followed a professional’s carefully planned and tested recipe, but this was not about making the best stuffed mushrooms on the face of the earth, this was about diving in, and trying, and learning through trial and error.

Here is what I used based off what I happened to already have in my kitchen:

  • 11 button mushrooms
  • 1/2 tomato, diced in small cubes
  • Sun-dried tomato, chopped in small pieces
  • Feta cheese
  • Parsley
  • Thyme
  • Garlic powder
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Sea salt

First, I preheat the oven to 375° F. Next, I washed the mushrooms, popped out the stems, and placed them in a pan. I went ahead and put the stems in the pan too, as I love mushrooms and enjoy munching on even the non-stuffed parts.

If I had not been trying to take a healthy approach, I would have immersed the mushrooms in melted butter at this point. Instead, I poured a little olive oil in the pan and made sure that each mushroom was coated.

I then combined the fresh and sun-dried tomatoes, a small handful of Feta cheese, a dash of parsley, a dash of thyme, and a sprinkle of garlic powder in a bowl and mixed them all together. I much prefer the taste of fresh herbs over dried, but I unfortunately had none available, so it was all dry spices this time.

Next, I spooned the mixture into the mushrooms and sprinkled them all with a bit of sea salt and parmesan.

Then it was into the oven. While they were cooking, I found myself in a homemaker mood (something about cooking), so I did the dishes, took the dog out, folded the laundry, and ate the juiciest plum, which stained my fingers red. I lost track of time in the midst of all that, so I am not sure how long the mushrooms baked, but when they had turned brown and tender I pulled them out for a taste.

I have to say, for using only ingredients already in the house, and one of my very first attempts at cooking without a recipe, these came out quite well. If I make them again, I would tweak the ratio a bit so that there would be more fresh tomato and a little less Feta, but other than that, I think recipe #1 was a success!

